Comic Corner: Mini Reviews for February 2016

1 Comment

ccbnnerfeb

Really slow reading month for me so far, but I still managed to read a few comics. So let’s review them, shall we?


 

ccbnnerfeb2

1) Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope by Roy Thomas & Howard Chaykin (Illustrations)

Date Read: Feb. 5

Synopsis from Goodreads: The original comic adaptation of the greatest space-fantasy film of all is remastered for the modern age! Weeks before George Lucas’ first Star Wars film hit theatres, Marvel gave fans their first look at Luke Skywalker, boldly asking: “Will he save the galaxy, or destroy it?” You may know the answer, but that doesn’t spoil the fun of seeing Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope like never before…including scenes that never made the silver screen! When Princess Leia is taken prisoner, Luke, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Han Solo, Chewbacca, C-3PO and R2-D2 ride to the rescue and take on Darth Vader in his awesome Death Star. It’s six against a galaxy – one that’s far, far away and a long time ago! May the Force be with you, in the mighty Marvel manner! COLLECTING: Star Wars (1977) 1-6 (Re-mastered)

mythoughtssign

Basically, it’s Episode IV in a condensed trade comic and I adored it. I absolutely love the original Star Wars trilogy (Episode V will forever be my favorite) so I was so excited to pick this up. It was a lot of fun and the artwork was pretty good. The only thing I didn’t like was the way Luke was drawn. He just looked really weird and off putting, but that’s just me nitpicking. I liked that it had the dialogue from the film and also there were some panels where it was telling you what the characters were thinking at the time. I thought that was a great touch and helped add more to the characters. Overall, really fun read and I need to get my hands on the other two a.s.a.p.

My Rating:

rating4


2) The Batman Adventures: Mad Love by Paul Dini & Bruce Timm

Date Read: Feb. 7

Synopsis from Goodreads: The trend in superheroes of the late 1980s was dark, grim, gritty, and not very kid friendly. Then along came the animated Batman series. The visual style was totally unique: clean, sharp, and bold. Batman Adventures: Mad Love is an original comics story drawn in the style of the popular animated series. It’s even put together by Paul Dini, a major force behind the animated show. This particular story involves Batman’s old foe, the Joker, and Joker’s cute but deadly sidekick, Harley Quinn. Actor Mark Hamill of Star Wars fame, who plays the voice of the Joker in the animated series, claims that this is one of his all-time favorite comics, calling it “bold, lusty, gleefully demented.”

mythoughtssign

I’m a horrible person, I know, but I love Harley and The Joker. That’s terrible to say given the circumstances of their relationship but damnit I love them. This is such a great origin story on Harley and I love how she became Harley Quinn. The artwork was a lot of fun and lively, the dialogue was perfect and this read like a short episode of an animated show. I loved the ending and how open it was. My only complaint is that the pacing was a bit rushed so it didn’t feel as fleshed out as it should’ve been but overall, a great read for Harley Quinn fans.

My Rating:

rating4


3) Batman: Cacophony by Kevin Smith & Walter Flanagan (Illustrator)

Date Read: Feb. 13

Synopsis from Goodreads: Best-selling comic book writer/director Kevin Smith (GREEN ARROW) steps into Gotham City to write this graphic novel featuring the mysterious masked killer known as Onomatopoeia who sets his sights – and sounds – against The Caped Crusader!

Will Batman be able to uncover the relationship between The Joker and Onomatopoeia in time to keep them from destroying Gotham City? Or are these villains too much for The Caped Crusader? The wild ride that caught Batman between The Joker and Onomatopoeia comes to a crashing halt as Batman is forced to choose between capturing Onomatopoeia and saving the Joker’s life! Will Onomatopoeia have the final word with a deadly “Bang!”? Find out in this exciting conclusion!

Includes Batman: Cacophony #’s 1-3.

mythoughtssign

Man, I hate that I didn’t love this one because I see what Kevin was trying to do and it absolutely could’ve worked if this had been a bit more fleshed out. I wanted more from this story wise but I was a bit disappointed. I feel like the ending was abrupt and left a lot to be desired because in the end, Onomatopoeia remained a mystery. Also, this was more of a Joker story, which I didn’t mind because I quite liked him here; especially the last conversation he had with Batman was particularly great. The humor in this was kinda juvenile and it threw off the flow sometimes but the artwork was really good and was kinda wasted here unfortunately. The story could’ve been so much stronger because the plot had a ton of potential and I can see what Kevin Smith was trying to do.  This was still really fun because of the action, Joker and the artwork. Overall, not a bad read at all but I really wanted more.

My Rating:

rating3


4) Harley Quinn Valentine’s Day Special (2015) #1 by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti & John Timms (Illustrator)

Date Read: Feb. 14

Synopsis from Goodreads: Love is in the air in New York City! The planet’s richest bachelor, Bruce Wayne, is in town for a charity auction – and the highest bidder gets a date with Mr. Tall, Dark, and Brooding! Good thing Harley Quinn just came into some money (please, whatever you do, don’t ask how). But can Bruce really spend a night with Harley without her learning how he spends his nights?

mythoughtssign

This was so much fun. Harley Quinn is my #1 gal so I may be a bit biased here. The artwork was good and vibrant and the story was actually really cute and I love that Harley was about justice for the less fortunate but in her own, quirky way of course. The dream sequences that both Harley and Bruce were so funny and entertaining and I loved them. The “villains” in this were campy and goofy and overall just made this feel really lighthearted and fun. It’s a great, quick read and I recommend it if you’re a fan of Harley Quinn. Also, I didn’t think I could ever in this lifetime ship Bruce/Harley but dammit did this make me think about the possibility. It wouldn’t work, but it would be weird and cute while it lasted.

My Rating:

rating4

That’s all for this month, folks! I hope you guys enjoyed! Please, let me know if you have read any of these. Or if you have a favorite comic/graphic novel that you could recommend to me that would be fantastic!

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

One thought on “Comic Corner: Mini Reviews for February 2016

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: February 2016 |

Leave a comment