Comic Corner: Mini Reviews for July 2016

Leave a comment

I read 5 graphic novels this month and for the most part, I enjoyed most of them immensely.


1. Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe  (Writer), Roc Upchurch (Illustrator)

Date Read: July 2

Synopsis from Goodreads: Who are the Rat Queens?

A pack of booze-guzzling, death-dealing battle maidens-for-hire, and they’re in the business of killing all god’s creatures for profit.

It’s also a darkly comedic sass-and-sorcery series starring Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Smidgen Thief. This modern spin on an old school genre is a violent monster-killing epic that is like Buffy meets Tank Girl in a Lord of the Rings world on crack!

mythoughtssign

I absolutely loved this first volume! It was really funny and a lot of fun. The artwork is really awesome and I kind of want to see this as a web series. I think the characters are fantastic and have so much personality and their friendship was refreshing. Also, this is pretty diverse and that makes me extremely happy. The fantasy element and the world building was great and I think this series has a lot of potential and I cannot wait to see what happens next.

My Rating:

rating4


 

2. Rat Queens, Vol. 2: The Far Reaching Tentacles of N’rygoth by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Roc Upchurch (Illustrator), Stjepan Šejić (Illustrator), Ed Brisson (Letterer)

Date Read: July 7

Synopsis from Goodreads: This booze-soaked second volume of RAT QUEENS reveals a growing menace within the very walls of Palisade. And while Dee may have run from her past, the bloated, blood-feasting sky god N’rygoth never really lets his children stray too far.

mythoughtssign

Not sure which volume I enjoyed more between the two but this series just keeps getting better. I loved that this volume had some back story for the characters, especially Dee and Hannah. Though Dee’s whole thing felt rushed and not fleshed out enough. Hopefully the story goes into more details on her whole situation as the series progresses because I think it’s interesting. Also, she’s my favorite character so I’m a little bit biased but that’s neither here nor there. I love these characters so much and I’m so excited to see where there story goes next. I’m so invested in this series and it’s quickly becoming one of my new favorites.

My Rating:

rating4


3. Rat Queens, Vol. 3: Demons by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Tamra Bonvillain (Illustrator), Tess Fowler (Illustrator)

Date Read: July 11

Synopsis from Goodreads: Having survived the end of the world, the Queens follow Hannah back to where it all began: Mage University. A long perilous journey awaits the Rat Queens as they attempt to find out what happened to Hannah’s father while battling their own demons.

mythoughtssign

What is it with third volumes in graphic novels being so lackluster? Why is that a trend? I’m slightly disappointed, while this wasn’t terrible it definitely did not live up to the first two volumes.

The art style change was startling but I grew use to it by the end even though it isn’t very good. The pacing was all over the place and hopped around a lot. I actually found myself confused a couple of times because it just feels like there was storylines coming out of nowhere and I couldn’t keep up. Also, everyone felt out of character! I didn’t recognize these people because they were nothing like how they were in the first two volumes. The last little scene with Hannah and the rest of the girls was so over the top and annoying. I also feel like this had none of the humor and fun. So much changed and yet none of it was for the better!

While I enjoyed Hannah’s backstory and the little bit of Betty’s that we got everything else fell flat. Things from the last volume were brushed over and swept to the side with little to no explanation and it was extremely lazy.

Overall, this was underwhelming. I just really wanted more from this but I still look forward to the next volume even though the ending to this wasn’t my favorite and was anti-climatic.

My Rating:

rating3


4. Catwoman: When in Rome by Jeph Loeb, Tim Sale (Illustrator)

Date Read: July 14-15

Synopsis from Goodreads: The acclaimed, Eisner award-winning team of writer Jeph Loeb and artist Tim Sale return to Gotham City, home of Catwoman, for a tale that takes the Feline Fatale into a dangerous new realm. WHEN IN ROME chronicles Catwoman’s mysterious trip to Italy and her dealings with the deadly Falcone crime family. It’s a colorful tale of Gotham’s sexiest cat burglar at her most intriguing.

mythoughtssign

Well, at least this was a really quick read. I was extremely disappointed with it honestly. The plot lacked any focus and was all over the place and Selina was void of any personality. Actually, all of the characters were very one dimensional which is unfortunate. The ending was rushed and anti-climatic and as an ‘origin’ story kind of about Selina’s life it just doesn’t work. It’s not terrible but definitely not necessary if you are a Catwoman fan.

My Rating:

rating2


5. iZombie, Vol. 2: uVampire by Chris Roberson, Mike Allred (Illustrator)

Date Read: July 16

Synopsis from Goodreads: In uVAMPIRE, Gwen dines on the grey matter of a person who knew her as a child – and things quickly get complicated. Meanwhile, ghost-girl Ellie learns a few tricks from Amon the mummy; Spot the were-terrier goes to the comics shop and meets someone from Gwen’s past, the mad scientist Galatea engages in a bit of grave-robbing; and the monster-hunters tackle the town’s vampire problem once and for all.

mythoughtssign

I am really enjoying this series so far. This one isn’t as good as the first one but I still liked it a lot, I just wish it didn’t feel like filler. The characters are really great and charming and the story is a lot of fun. I loved that we got Scott’s back story because he’s my favorite and the scene with him in the comic book store was the cutest thing ever and I ship it already. I like where this is going and I see what could potentially happen with Ellie’s character and I am so excited for it and I hope I’m right about it. Gwen is such a fascinating character but I’m so glad that they split the time between all of the characters and not just her because I feel like it’s all going to connect and come full circle in the end. Can’t wait to continue on and see where it goes next.

My Rating:

rating4

That’s all for this month! Any comic or manga recs would be greatly appreciated!

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

Leave a Reply

