(Non Spoiler) Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

5 Comments

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance

Date Published: May 3, 2016 by Bloomsbury

Series: Book #2 in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world torn apart.


mythoughtssign

***Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas***

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal. I was a survivor, and I was strong. I would not be weak, or helpless again. I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.”

I was slightly disappointed in this unfortunately. Reading this made me see a flaw in Maas’ writing style and it bothered me so much!

Okay, let me start with the positives. I love the setting and the mood of this novel. The world building is pretty great and feels lush. I also really enjoyed Feyre’s character growth even though she still was kind of annoying a lot of the time.

The new characters we get introduced to from Rhys’ court were definitely one of the highlights of this novel for me. I loved getting to know them and see their interactions with one another and how loyal they were to Rhys.

I also loved Rhys. He’s so swoon worthy.

Also, the ending was really great and I loved the last line.

That’s literally all for the positives. My main problem is that Tamlin’s character was completely turned on his head for the sake of shipping Rhys and Feyre and that is not okay. I just re-read ACOTAR a few months ago and while he is definitely an intense guy, he’s not the monster that he was made to be in this book. It was such a change that it was jarring. Maas did the exact same thing in Queen of Shadows with a certain character to ship Aelin and Rowan. It didn’t bother me there because I feel like it worked and made sense but with Tamlin it felt really forced and it pissed me off. More than half of the novel was trying to make Tam look bad so you really have no choice to ship Feyre and Rhys. It comes off cheap. Their relationship should be able to flourish on it’s on, you don’t have to tear him down to do that.

*deep sigh* So glad I got that out. It’s been on my spirit for a few days.

Another thing, this was paced like Heir of Fire, which is NOT a good thing (goodness that book is slow) and it is entirely too long to be paced that way and made getting through this such a drag at certain points.

This is not in anyway a bad book, but the faults I had with it were pretty major for me and kept me from falling all over myself about it. Basically, the moral of the story is to just let relationships develop naturally. No need to force it by making the other love interest look like an asshat.

Overall, I’m still excited to see where the story goes next. I just wish that I could join everyone else in saying that it’s my favorite book of the year, but it’s not. Not even close.

*Shout out to Neil Gaiman and Maggie Stiefvater for ruining my reading life this year.

My Rating:

rating4

I know I’m in the minority here, but I still would love to know what you thought about this book if you’ve read it.

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

5 thoughts on “(Non Spoiler) Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’m reading this book right now and I’m having the exact same issues. I’ve gotten used to the Feyre/Rhys shipping, but when it comes to Tamlin, talk about a character change, it made absolutely no sense. And the pacing is sooo slow indeed >_<

    Liked by 1 person

    • I swear I thought I was alone with this. Everyone else I’ve seen review this book just hates Tamlin now and I really don’t understand. It felt very manipulated to me. And good luck getting through it. LOL. It is so slow going and tedious. Are you enjoying it other than that though?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Other than that it’s totally fine, actually : D Just the whole Tamlin being a bad guy thing really annoyed me. Also, things are moving really slow with Rhys and Feyre. I mean, I thought they’d at least kiss after the festival -_-

        Liked by 1 person

      • LOL. I know what you mean! Every time there was an ‘intense’ moment between them I was just waiting on them to kiss but they wouldn’t. Drove me crazy but I kind of liked that. I like the way she developed their relationship minus the turning Tamlin bad thing.

        Like

  2. I’m sorry this wasn’t your favorite book in the series, Jamie 😦 I keep seeing mixed reviews on it, and it’s honestly a bit discouraging. Everyone raved about the second book so much! Only to get disappointed now.
    I’m not sure whether the decision to write three more books was a good one… I think Maas is really stretching it thin. Unless she comes up with some really great new ideas, I’m not sure I’ll support her for too long.
    Awesome review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

