(Non Spoiler) Review: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

4 Comments

Title: Firefight

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: YA Sci-Fi & Dystopian

Date Published: January 6th 2015 by Delacorte Press

Series: Book #2 in the Reckoners trilogy

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Summary: They told David it was impossible—that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet, Steelheart—invincible, immortal, unconquerable—is dead. And he died by David’s hand.

Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life more simple. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And there’s no one in Newcago who can give him the answers he needs.

Babylon Restored, the old borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic, Regalia, David is sure Babylon Restored will lead him to what he needs to find. And while entering another city oppressed by a High Epic despot is a gamble, David’s willing to risk it. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David’s heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic—Firefight. And he’s willing to go on a quest darker, and more dangerous even, than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.


mythoughtssign

***Review: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson***

“We want what we can’t have, even when we have no right to demand it.”

I’ve never been more disappointed in my life. I freaking loved the first book, but what the hell happened here? This was insufferable and nowhere near the awesomeness of Steelheart. I’m so heartbroken I can’t even function right now.

Brandon Sanderson is a fantastic writer, no arguments about that but this series is pandering entirely too much to the ‘romance’ side of YA. It doesn’t need to do that because the story itself is so amazing and original and it just feels bogged down with David’s obsession with Megan. He was nowhere near the lovable dork that he was in the first book. He grated on my nerves the entire time and I found myself not invested in his character or story as much this time around.

Again, the prologue to this is what hooked me in. The man knows how to write a damn good prologue. Everything was going really well until David started on Megan and it wasn’t like a quick passing of saying he missed her or wanted to see her, oh no, it was lengthy fucking pages and internal dialogue about how great Megan is and how much he adores her. Funny, because Megan has zero personality and I don’t see the chemistry between them. But, this is YA, we need romance dammit. Herp derp.

We were introduced to some new characters who I really enjoyed, especially Mizzy and Val and I feel like they were completely wasted. David meets Mizzy and automatically thinks about how she’s cute, but not stunning and beautiful and OMG like Megan. Grrrrrr. He was also a bit of a condescending dick to her (Mizzy) at times, which he didn’t try to be but it was just so aggravating. He treated her like a child even though she is very intelligent, just a bit quirky.

Are you seeing the frustration?

When it wasn’t the ‘Megan Is a Beautiful Special Snowflake’ show, the book wasn’t even that much better. The pacing was slow and it definitely wasn’t as action packed and exciting as the first book. I feel like it didn’t get exciting until the last couple of chapters and it still wasn’t worth it in the end because I was completely over it.

Overall, if I can find the third and final book from my library I will read it. That’s only in hopes that Megan gets eaten by a lion or something, I don’t know. Don’t judge me, I’m really vulnerable right now!

My Rating:

rating2

*sigh* Let me know your thoughts if you’ve read this book. Was the third one worth it? I would love to know!

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

4 thoughts on “(Non Spoiler) Review: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson

  1. Pingback: Review: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson |

  2. Aww, I’m so sorry you didn’t enjoy this book! I thought it was great – not as great as Steelheart, but fun anyways. Will you be continuing on with Calamity? I’ve been hearing more mixed/negative reviews for that one, which makes me really hesitant. :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, as soon as I can get my hands on Calamity I’m going to read it. I’ve heard mixed things about it as well so I’m not too sure how I feel about that. I’m just hoping it’s as good as Steelheart but I seriously doubt it will be at this point 😦

      Like

      • I doubt it too! People seem to like it less than Steelheart, and seeing as you didn’t like Firefight, which most people think was good… well, I’d try to go in with low expectations. Hope you like it, though! 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

