Monthly Rewind: June 2016

3 Comments

Besides it being it my birthday month (whoop!), I also officially got back on the reading train and it feels great! I read 11 things in total. 5 books, 4 manga and 2 comics.

1. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski – Rating: ♥♥♥. Review Here

2. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Vol. 1 by Karuho Shiina – Rating: ♥♥♥. Comic Corner Review Here

3. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Vol. 2 by Karuho Shiina – Rating: ♥♥♥. Comic Corner Review Here

4. The View from the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman – Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥. Review Here

5. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Vol. 3 – Rating:♥♥♥. Comic Corner Review Here

6. Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning – Rating: ♥♥. Review Here

7. iZombie, Vol. 1: Dead to the World by Chris Roberson, Mike Allred (Illustrator), Laura Allred (Colorist) – Rating: ♥♥♥♥. Comic Corner Review Here

8. Superman: Earth One, Vol. 1 by J. Michael Straczynski, Shane Davis (Illustrator) – Rating: ♥♥♥. Comic Corner Review Here

9. Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning – Rating: ♥♥♥. Review Here

10. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Vol. 4 by Karuho Shiina – Rating: ♥♥. Comic Corner Review Here

11. The Rose & The Dagger by Renée Ahdieh – Rating: ♥♥♥♥. Review Here

My favorite read of the month was hands down The View from the Cheap Seats! It’s actually one of my new favorite books ever, that’s how much I loved it. Definitely the best book I’ve read so far this year.


TV Favorite:

Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (Netflix):

I actually started (and finished) this show last week. I watched both seasons in two days and I have absolutely no regrets. It’s just so funny and cute and the cast is so great. Titus and Kimmy’s friendship is just so adorable and I love them. Titus is my spirit animal. He’s just so fierce and I might be a bit biased because the actor was also the original Sebastian in The Little Mermaid on Broadway. His voice is amazing and I now find myself singing ‘Pinot Noir’ at random times throughout the day. Anywho, I’m actually re-watching this show right now because I’m a little bit obsessed.


Music Favorite:

좋아 She Is by Jonghyun

This entire album has been my go to this month. I’m 100% biased because Jonghyun is from my favorite K-pop group (SHINee) so I loved this before even listening to it. The album is amazing and that’s all I will say because I could ramble on all day about how good it is and how flawless his voice is. It was hard to choose favorites but my top two are Aurora & Moon


What I’ve Been Doing:

-It was my birthday this month (on the 17th) and honestly, I celebrated all month. It’s a wonder I got any reading done this month because when I wasn’t reading, I was out drinking with friends. Lol. Lots of hangovers this month but I had a blast nonetheless. I usually don’t do anything for my birthday but this year I decided to just go for it. I’m not sure how I’m going to top it next year when I turn the big 2-5 (DEAR GOD I’M GETTING OLD HELP MEEEEEE!)

-I got nothing done on my novel. I haven’t even opened it but since my birthday has come and gone I can now get back to focusing on it in July. I already have the first couple of chapters outlined and ready to go so I’m excited to finally get started.

That’s all for this month! What were some of your favorite things of the month? I would love to know! Don’t forget to link me to your wrap-ups!

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

3 thoughts on “Monthly Rewind: June 2016

  1. Sounds like you had a super fun month!!! Well except the hangovers, haha. Great reading month too. I really need to read The Winners trilogy and The Wrath & The Dawn. And I’m 26 so don’t worry, you’re not that old yet haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

