Comic Corner (feat. Manga): Mini Reviews for June 2016

3 Comments

I started another manga series this month. There was a lot less rage reading with this one, but it’s still not that great. Also, managed to read two comics.


1. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Vol. 1 by Karuho Shiina

Date Read: June 4

Synopsis from Goodreads: Sawako Kuronuma is the perfect heroine…for a horror movie. With striking similarities to a haunting movie character–jet-black hair, sinister smile and silent demeanor–she’s mistakenly called Sadako by those around her. But behind her scary façade is a very misunderstood teenager. Too shy to fit in, all she wants to do is make some friends. But when the most popular boy in class befriends her, she’s sure to make more than just that–she’s about to make some enemies too!

mythoughtssign

This was so stinking cute! I really enjoyed it for the most part. It was so fluffy and light and adorable. The artwork is really good and was a lot of fun. The plot is super simple but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but it could be fleshed out more. Can’t fault it too much because this is only the first volume. I really like the character of Sawako and think that she is absolutely precious but I am not a fan of the whole ‘girl isn’t confident in herself until she meets a guy and he gives her confidence’ trope and that’s what her character is kinda all about so far. I hope that as the series goes on she develops and grows out of this depending on Kazehaya phase. I look forward to continuing on with this series.

My Rating:

rating3


2. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Vol. 2 by Karuho Shiina

Date Read: June 5

Synopsis from Goodreads: Rumors start flying about Sadako’s new friends claiming that Yano’s been around the block and Yoshida’s a former gang member. And the source of all this tattle? Sadako herself! Will Sadako retreat to her former life as a loner because of a simple misunderstanding?!

mythoughtssign

I really enjoyed the ending of this volume a lot more than the beginning. The beginning felt so contrived and I was a little bit confused but it did resolve and wrap up nicely. I love the focus on the friendship that Sawako has made more than the ‘relationship(?)’ with Kaze. I also liked that we got to see how the rumors and all of the drama that was going on was effecting not only Sawako but the other girls as well. So far, I am still really enjoying this cute series.

My Rating:

rating3


3. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Vol. 3 by Karuho Shiina

Date Read: June 8

Synopsis from Goodreads: Sadako finally becomes friends with her classmates, instead of scaring them off. Even Kurumi, the cutest girl in school, wants to be her friend. But will this new friendship make Sadako realize that her feelings for Kazehaya might be more than just friendly?

mythoughtssign

We’re reaching Boys Over Flowers territory in that there’s a seemingly ‘sweet’ character who turns out to be crazy and manipulative. I don’t like this trope in manga/anime and it’s usually never done well. Here was no exception, it was incredibly rushed and felt forced and I feel like the story didn’t need to go this route cause I can already predict where this is going. I’m not amused but I still do really like this series and Sawako is still just the cutest little thing ever. Hopefully this whole storyline with the other girl gets resolved quickly and doesn’t drag on and on. I’ve already mentally prepped myself for it to be the entire focus of volume 4 and I have my Tylenol ready.

My Rating:

rating3


4. iZombie, Vol. 1: Dead to the World by Chris Roberson (Goodreads Author), Mike Allred (Illustrator), Laura Allred (Colorist)

Date Read: June 12

Synopsis from Goodreads: Told from a female zombie’s perspective, this smart, witty detective series mixes urban fantasy and romantic dramedy.

Gwendolyn “Gwen” Dylan is a 20-something gravedigger in an eco-friendly cemetery. Once a month she must eat a human brain to keep from losing her memories, but in the process she becomes consumed with the thoughts and personality of the dead person – until she eats her next brain. She sets out to fulfill the dead person’s last request, solve a crime or right a wrong.

Our zombie girl detective is joined by a radical supporting cast: her best friend Eleanor, who happens to be a swinging ’60s ghost, a posse of paintball blasting vampires, a smitten were-dog and a hot but demented mummy.

Collects issues #1-5

mythoughtssign

I really, really like the tv show and I knew going into this that it would be different. I actually really loved the differences between the two and this first volume was so much fun. The artwork is so fresh and really brought this to life and gave it dimension. The characters were awesome and I loved them, especially Gwen and Spot. The entire thing read as a really fun mystery and I liked the story and all of the different creatures of the night that were included. Gwen is amazing and a badass in both the comics and the show and I like that the show kept a lot of her personality in tact. I also kind of ship Gwen and Spot (effing Horatio getting in the way of my ship…grrr!) because I think they are adorable. I will definitely pick up the second volume if I can find it at my local library.

My Rating:

rating4


5. Superman: Earth One, Vol. 1 by J. Michael Straczynski, Shane Davis (Illustrator)

Date Read: June 14

Synopsis from Goodreads: J. Michael Straczynski, the creator of Babylon 5, joins forces with rising star artist Shane Davis (SUPERMAN/BATMAN: THE SEARCH FOR KRYPTONITE) to create this original graphic novel that gives new insight into Clark Kent’s transformation into Superman and his first year as The Man of Steel. This is the first in a new wave of original DC Universe graphic novels, featuring top writers’ and illustrators’ unique takes on DC characters.

mythoughtssign

I think this was a good start to an arc but it wasn’t as strong as it could’ve been. I feel like I was reading a much better version of the screenplay for Man of Steel and I think it was a great origin story. The artwork was really good minus Clark Kent himself, who looked very inconsistent through out. Some panels he looked like a scrawny teenager, the next panel he looked like a full blown adult. I also think the transitions from the past and the present were done in such a sloppy way and it kinda messed up the flow of the story at times. This is only the first volume and it had so much potential so I think it probably improves in the next one.

My Rating:

rating3


6. Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You, Vol. 4 by Karuho Shiina

Date Read: June 20

Synopsis from Goodreads: Will the curse of Sadako leave her friendless for life? Kurumi’s got it all–looks, popularity and friends. But underneath Kurumi’s friendly exterior is a manipulative girl who’ll do anything to get what she wants! And Sawako has the one thing Kurumi wants–Kazehaya’s friendship. Could all of Kurumi’s plotting really drive the two apart, or will it instead draw them even closer together?

mythoughtssign

Least favorite volume so far. It went all out with the cliche of ‘seemingly nice girl is actually not so nice because she is also in love with main character’s love interest’. It’s a terrible trope and I wish it wasn’t so frequently used in shojo manga stories. It especially didn’t work here because Sawako is such a sweet and caring person that she just didn’t react the way you would expect her to and that was actually really annoying. There’s nothing wrong with Sawako being a nice person but she shouldn’t let that be an excuse for people to walk all over her, which Kurumi does. She tells the poor girl over and over again that she never considered her as a friend and that she hates her and yet Sawako still likes her and wants to be nice to her? Why? It doesn’t make any sense. She didn’t have to cuss her out or try to fight her but she doesn’t stand up for herself whatsoever and that is the issue. This whole story line is an unnecessary detour and it doesn’t feel like it’s going to go anywhere. The only highlight in this volume was Pin because that whole thing with him and Kurumi was hilarious.

My Rating:

rating2

That’s all for this month! Any comic or manga recs would be greatly appreciated!

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

3 thoughts on “Comic Corner (feat. Manga): Mini Reviews for June 2016

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: June 2016 |

  2. I’ve been meaning to read iZombie for a while now! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

