(Non Spoiler) Review: Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes

1 Comment

Title: Hidden Bodies

Author: Caroline Kepnes

Genre: Adult Psychological Thriller

Date Published: January 14, 2016 by Henry Holt and Company / Released February 23, 2016

Series: Book #2 in the You series

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Summary: Joe Goldberg is no stranger to hiding bodies. In the past ten years, this thirty-something has buried four of them, collateral damage in his quest for love. Now he’s heading west to Los Angeles, the city of second chances, determined to put his past behind him.

In Hollywood, Joe blends in effortlessly with the other young upstarts. He eats guac, works in a bookstore, and flirts with a journalist neighbor. But while others seem fixated on their own reflections, Joe can’t stop looking over his shoulder. The problem with hidden bodies is that they don’t always stay that way. They re-emerge, like dark thoughts, multiplying and threatening to destroy what Joe wants most: true love. And when he finds it in a darkened room in Soho House, he’s more desperate than ever to keep his secrets buried. He doesn’t want to hurt his new girlfriend—he wants to be with her forever. But if she ever finds out what he’s done, he may not have a choice…


mythoughtssign

**Review: You by Caroline Kepnes**

“It is possible to know people. They show you who they are. You just have to be looking.”

I’m going to be honest, I knew this was a mistake as soon as I heard there was going to be a sequel. I was apprehensive but when I saw this at the library, I picked it up. As harsh as it may sound, I’m so glad I didn’t buy this.

I don’t think I’ve ever been more disappointed in a sequel ever. I really enjoyed You when I read it last year and thought it was a lot of fun in all of it’s sick, twisted ways.. The writing was unique and I really liked the 2nd person perspective and I loved Joe.

This book, though.

This book, though.

I was so incredibly bored reading this. This book is about nothing and nothing happens except the end which feels like you’ve got cheated. It lacked all of the fun and intrigue that the first book had. There’s no more 2nd person perspective which I feel like was a big mistake to get rid of that. That was part of the creepy factor and the fun of the whole thing, why take that out? I also didn’t like that this wasn’t set in New York. Once Joe gets to L.A. it’s just name drop after name drop of celebrities and famous places and it felt contrived every single time. I felt like I was reading a damn tourist guide or something. The pacing was turtle slow. I mean, so many unnecessary parts that really dragged the plot down and yet added nothing to it.

Joe lost all of his psychotic charm and personality and he became really incredibly whiny and annoying. I also don’t understand the whole thing of women constantly using him and everyone around him being awful stereotypes. None of the characters felt authentic and I didn’t feel for any of them. He was also way more careless here then in first book. Evidence everywhere! I just, I don’t know what happened to him here but it was way off the mark. There was no development for him and I was completely over him.

The only positive I can really say is that I do like the writing (minus the not being in 2nd person thing). Caroline Kepnes has a great writing style and knows how to give her character a voice and personality. I will probably end up reading whatever else she publishes as long as it’s not a book three to this series. That’s enough Joe Goldberg for me.

Overall, not a necessary sequel at all. Just stick to You and keep it moving. You’ll thank me later.

My Rating:

rating2

If you’ve read it, I’d love to know what you thought of it. Especially if you liked it cause I’m just not understanding why this has a higher rating on Goodreads than the first book! I need answers!

sig

 

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

One thought on “(Non Spoiler) Review: Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: May 2016 |

Leave a Reply

