Morning Coffee Convos: The Dreaded Blogging Burnout

11 Comments

discussionbnner

Welcome to a new thing here on my blog, Morning Coffee Convos! I want to use these posts as discussions on things bookish and otherwise. So, grab a cup of coffee (or tea if you prefer) and lets kick this off.  To start it all off, let’s talk about the dreaded Blogging Burnout.

If this is just a ramble and all over the place, I apologize in advance. It’s early and I’m only on my first cup of coffee for the day. I cannot be held accountable.

So let’s start. Blogging Burnout blows and I’ve had enough of it.

Okay, I feel like a bit of a dummy because I only started this blog in January of this year and yet I’m already feeling the slump! How is that even possible? Why? Four months in and I’m already going through this? I just don’t understand.

I mean, how the hell did I go from being excited and being obsessed with my blog

To the very thought of having to post giving me a headache?

What happened between then and now??

I think it’s because I had developed a routine and got way too comfortable. I fell into a hole of repetitiveness and I think it finally caught up with me and has worn me down. No joke, it was Top Ten Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday, random book review, Comic Corner review and then wrap-up. Rinse. Wash. Repeat.

Wow, fascinating. Such greatness. Bow at my awesome blogging skills!

Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind memes and it’s fun participating in them but they really are no brainer posts. Put your pitchforks away, let me explain. It would take me no more than 15 minutes or so to do a TTT or WoW post and then that was it. I love commenting and talking with everyone about them but there was never anything that I felt of substance. At least not in my posts and that’s why I’ve kind of ventured away from doing those posts for a little bit. Not saying that I’m never going to do them again, but right now I just need a change of pace. Does that still sound bad even after my explanation? You can bring back the pitchforks if you’d like.

I want to do more with my blog and that’s the problem. I don’t know what the hell to do or where to start.

But here’s what I do know:

  • I need to get the hell on a schedule. Not just for the days of the memes, but for reviewing and everything else I end up posting. Whatever that may be.
  • I need to learn to be okay with breaking out of this routine.

…And that’s all I got. How pathetic is that? I’m so damn annoyed and I’m even more so at those two lonely bullet points. *sobs*

I’m not at the point in my slump where I feel like I just want to give up on this all together so at least there’s that. I just want to find the same enthusiasm I once had. Is it because the newness of it all has worn off? Not entirely sure but it sounds possible. I know every blogger goes through this at some point, but this soon? I haven’t even had this thing six months! Am I crazy? I must be crazy!

Maybe I’m just looking for validation that I’m over thinking this and stressing myself out for nothing. I honestly don’t know at this point.

I don’t have the answers, sorry. Maybe I’ll do a post down the line explaining what helped me get out of this funk. Right now I’m trying to find my groove again and I just needed to get this off of my chest and vent.

I actually feel a bit better now!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nope, wait, never mind, I’m going to go watch The Walking Dead. See ya.

If you have any tips and tricks to help with Blogging Burnout, please share! I’m getting desperate here! I would love to hear about your similar experiences.

Until the next one,

sig

 

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

11 thoughts on “Morning Coffee Convos: The Dreaded Blogging Burnout

  1. Aww, sorry to hear that you’re burned out! Even if it’s ‘only’ four months in, that’s four months of being dedicated to something, so it’s natural that sometimes you just want to take a break. Never invalidate your own feelings – it’s normal to have them, I think. 🙂

    And in regards to book memes… I’ve always seen them as a way to connect with bloggers I’m not yet connected to. Top Ten Tuesday is pretty much the only time I venture outside my feed and go read blogs I’m not yet following, so for me, it’s actually a bit more work than my other posts. I agree though that they can get repetitive and brainless, though in my experience certain topics do result in great discussions.

    I have a colour-coded scheduling template that I use to keep myself accountable to my blog. I’m huge on crossing things off my to-do list, so that helps for me. I hope you find your momentum again soon. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! I agree with you about Top Ten Tuesday, they are great ways to meet and discover other blogs but for my own posts I just feel like I’m on auto pilot when I do them. If that makes sense. I love the color coded schedule you have! Such a great idea and I should try something like that. I saw that you have ‘Book Tag’ on certain days, is there a specific place or site that you find the tags to do? They sound like fun.

      Like

      • Don’t worry, that makes sense. I think weekly memes have a tendency to do that sometimes – which is why I only do just the TTT.

        Book Tags are just book memes I’ve been tagged on – so I don’t really go around looking for new ones! But there are LOTS around so I’m sure if you just Google ‘book tag’ you’ll find lots. They’re pretty fun, but like with TTT, I think it’s easy to just use the same books over and over again… the challenge is to not, haha.

        Like

  2. Like Reg said: your feelings are totally valid, and they’re a-okay to have!

    Nobody’s gonna be coming after you with pitchforks for not enjoying the daily/weekly memes. I don’t do them, myself, and never read them. Well, okay, I did read them for the first few weeks that I started following other bloggers–but my comments were always of the “Oh yeah, I totally agree” or “I’ll have to add that to my TBR stack” variety, which aren’t very interesting or engaging. For me, it’s much more fun to come up with original content, and to comment on other bloggers’ original content.

    Also, not reading everyone’s weekly/daily gives me more time to (a) read their original content, and (b) do other things with my life. Time’s precious, and reading fifty or more variations of the same list isn’t exactly my top priority right now.

    I’m glad you felt better by the end of this post! Hopefully you’ll dig yourself out of this funk soon, and figure out the schedule and the type of content you need to be producing to enjoy blogging again. Keep us posted! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I know how you feel. My comments were getting so repetitive when I commented on weekly memes and I felt bad. I haven’t read any in a while because I just need a break from it. I think I was more nervous that if I tried to break out of my routine and do something new, no one would care. I don’t feel that way anymore but it was bothering me last month. Coming up with new content and thinking outside of the box is hard but it’s a lot more fun. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad you’re taking the break you need, instead of forcing yourself to keep reading! Gotta do what you gotta do.

        We your readers will definitely care (in a good way, not a pitchfork way) as you try out new stuff and find your niche. But it’s awesome that you’re not concerned about what us randos think anymore, anyway. You doing your thing and having fun is what’s truly important. 😀

        It is, isn’t it? I’m looking forward to seeing what you try out!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much! I swear I was so nervous to even write this post in the first place because I thought it would just be ignored. I love discussion posts and always wanted to do them so I’m glad that I did. I’m sure I’ll figure something out. Right now I’m just testing things out until I find what works. This could take a while which is annoying but oh well. Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The “will everyone ignore this post” anxiety is real, for sure. Glad you overcame it! 😀

        I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed over here.

        Like

  3. Pingback: 3 Days, 3 Quotes|Volume #4|Day 3. |

  4. You should just do what you like, I know I do.. I’ve done 2 or 3 www’s so far myself, definitely not every week, only when I really have something to tell. I don’t even do stacking the shelves, and I might do a Teaser Tuesday one day, when I feel like it. I would love to have discussion posts like Wonderless Reviews or RantandRaveAboutBooks but I’m not there yet. Anayway, I hope you get out of your bookfunk soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

