Monthly Rewind: April 2016 – The Reading & Blogging Slump Edition

4 Comments

I was in a huge reading slump this past month so I only ended up reading 2 books and a comic. How ridiculously sad. I also haven’t been in a blogging mood because of my slump so I just suck at all of the things. Oops.

Here’s to hoping for a successful May! On to the pathetic wrap-up!


1. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken – Rating ♥♥. Review Here

2. Superman: Red Son by Mark Millar (Goodreads Author), Dave Johnson (Illustrator), Kilian Plunkett (Illustrator), Andrew Robinson (Illustrator), Walden Wong(Illustrator) – Rating ♥♥♥♥. Goodreads Review Here

3. Morning Star by Pierce Brown – Rating  ♥♥♥♥♥. Review Here

Morning Star was definitely my favorite read and I’m pretty sure it’s what put me in my reading slump. Shameful.


Music Favorite(s):

Lemonade by Beyoncé

This entire album and the video that goes with it have taken over my life. I’m not going to waste time gushing about this album because we’ll be here all day, but my favorites on here are Don’t Hurt Yourself feat. Jack White, Sorry6 Inch feat. The Weeknd and Freedom feat. Kendrick Lamar.

 

일곱 번째 감각 The 7th Sense by NCT U

  I usually don’t go for rookie groups but damn this song is so catchy. The beat is fantastic and it’s just fun to sing a long to. The video itself is great and I love the choreography. Video Here

 

 


What I’ve been doing:

-I didn’t have a movie or TV favorite last month but that’s because I was writing for most of the month. An outline that is. I usually never outline stories (terrible I know) and just go with the flow but for the story I’m currently working on, I have actually been outlining a lot. It’s tiresome but the story is coming together a lot quicker than usual. I wasn’t participating in Camp Nanowrimo because that shit stresses me out, I was just writing. I’ve been thinking of doing a little writing section/thing on my blog but nothing is set in stone yet.

-When not outlining, I have been studying up on my Korean. Not sure if I ever mentioned it, but I taught myself to read Korean a couple of years ago but I’ve always struggled with speaking it. I found this program through my local library called Mango Languages and it is amazing! I’ve definitely gotten stronger and a bit more confident in speaking Korean and it’s been really fun to study and practice. Or maybe I’m just a weirdo, not sure.

Welp, that’s really all there is to it. World’s saddest (and shortest) wrap-up. It feels good to be back blogging though and I promise to get back to commenting on everyone else’s blogs. Don’t forget to link me to your wrap-up’s!

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

4 thoughts on “Monthly Rewind: April 2016 – The Reading & Blogging Slump Edition

  1. Sorry to hear about the reading slump – and 3 books is better than nothing, so you should still be proud. Hope it gets better in May! ❤

    Here’s my wrap-up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a smart way of loinkog at the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

