(Non Spoiler) Review: Morning Star by Pierce Brown

3 Comments

Title: Morning Star

Author: Pierce Brown

Genre: Adult, Sci-Fi & Dystopian

Date Published: February 9, 2016 by Del Rey Books

Series: Book #3 in the Red Rising trilogy

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Summary: Darrow would have lived in peace, but his enemies brought him war. The Gold overlords demanded his obedience, hanged his wife, and enslaved his people. But Darrow is determined to fight back. Risking everything to transform himself and breach Gold society, Darrow has battled to survive the cutthroat rivalries that breed Society’s mightiest warriors, climbed the ranks, and waited patiently to unleash the revolution that will tear the hierarchy apart from within.

Finally, the time has come.

But devotion to honor and hunger for vengeance run deep on both sides. Darrow and his comrades-in-arms face powerful enemies without scruple or mercy. Among them are some Darrow once considered friends. To win, Darrow will need to inspire those shackled in darkness to break their chains, unmake the world their cruel masters have built, and claim a destiny too long denied – and too glorious to surrender.


mythoughtssign

**Review: Red Rising by Pierce Brown | (Non-Spoiler) Review: Golden Son by Pierce Brown**

“Justice isn’t about fixing the past, it’s about fixing the future. We’re not fighting for the dead. We’re fighting for the living. And for those who aren’t yet born.”

It was originally 4 but I let this book sit for a few days after finishing it to collect my emotions and I couldn’t stop thinking about it; it definitely deserves all five stars and then some. This was the perfect ending for this series. I loved it, I loved all of the heart stopping, anxiety filled moments. I can’t express enough how much I absolutely adore this trilogy because there are no words. This might be my most incoherent review yet so just bear with me.

Darrow is one of my favorite characters ever. He’s just such a great character and the growth and development he’s gone through from the first book to the last is remarkable. Even though he’s still not afraid to be vulnerable and wear his heart on his sleeve. His will to persevere especially after what he went through at the beginning of this book is mind blowing. His relationships with those around him was so fascinating, especially the ones with Mustang, Victra and Sevro. The family dynamic was great in this and just made me really happy to see.

Everyone else was great here as well. I really love these characters and I’m happy with the ending that they got. I think the ending in general was really great and actually kind of adorable which I definitely needed after all the hell the rest of the book put me through. I need an apology for chapter 58, Pierce Brown. My heart almost gave out twice. I expect a handwritten note and a box of kleenex to replace the one I used up on that chapter.

Anywho, this was a mind blowing, well thought out, gritty and yet somehow perfect conclusion to this series. I cannot wait to see what Pierce Brown does from here on out because I’m willing to read whatever he writes.

Read this series if you haven’t yet! You will not regret it.

My Rating:

rating

If you’ve read this series I would love to know what you thought of it!

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

3 thoughts on “(Non Spoiler) Review: Morning Star by Pierce Brown

  1. Pingback: Review: Red Rising by Pierce Brown |

  2. Pingback: (Non-Spoiler) Review: Golden Son by Pierce Brown |

  3. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: April 2016 – The Reading & Blogging Slump Edition |

Leave a Reply

