Weekend Reads 4/2/16: Passenger

5 Comments

weekendreadsbnner

I woke up sick as a dog today but I’m determined to not let this ruin my weekend! The longer I’m up and not sleep off of all of the medicine, I will get some reading done this weekend.

Synopsis: Passage, n.

i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home… forever.


 

So while I’m currently not fully functional I started Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. I told myself that I was going to stay as far away from this book because of the hype, but then I saw it at the library. I caved because I’m weak and I’m so ashamed of myself. *cries* I’m only a little over 200 pages in and honestly nothing has happened! I keep waiting for the shoe to drop and for shit to get real but nope, nothing as of yet. That’s okay though because The Darkest Minds is a slow burner of a book and I loved that one. I have hope for this so I’m going to hold out.

Don’t let me have read this book that I had no intentions of reading anytime soon and then nothing happens for 400+ pages. I’m gonna be very annoyed.

Alexandra, I love you, but I will not be pleased if this doesn’t pick up soon!

What are you guys reading this weekend? I would love to know!

sig

 

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

5 thoughts on “Weekend Reads 4/2/16: Passenger

  1. LOL. Well, I’m just going to be over here waiting on you to finish this before I jump into anything. [/moves Passenger to a different shelf to refrain from temptation]

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL! No you need to read it!! I cannot be alone in ripping this book a new one! I’m like 40 pages away from finishing and I’m STILL bored!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t make us all suffer. You have to be the sacrificial lamb this time! haha. Aww. Is this supposed to be part of a series? Because if not… somebody’s got some explaining to do.

        Liked by 1 person

      • So…I just finished. I won’t make you suffer (unless you really want to) but good grief I didn’t like this book. It’s the first in a duology apparently but ehhh…I’m annoyed. LOL. I still think you should read it though. haha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh dear. I’m definitely putting this off until the last possible second. Maybe one day, I’ll forget you told me it wasn’t that great, and I’ll accidentally start reading it for myself… only to be extremely disappointed in the end.

        Like

Leave a Reply

