Monthly Rewind: March 2016

8 Comments

I read quite a bit this month but it was all so spread out throughout the month that I feel like I hardly read anything. It was up and down with ratings, but for the most part not too bad. 4 books, 4 comics, 4 volumes of a manga series, and 1 short story. Not bad, not bad at all.

1. Golden Son by Pierce Brown – Rating: ♥♥♥♥. Review Here

2. Batman: A Death In the Family by Jim Starlin, Jim Aparo (Illustrator) & Mike DeCarlo (Illustrator) – Rating: ♥♥♥. Comic Corner Review Here

3. Learning to Swim by Annie Cosby – Rating: ♥♥♥♥. Review Here

4. Batman: Year One by Frank Miller, David Mazzucchelli (Illustrator) & Richmond Lewis (Colorist) – Rating: ♥♥♥♥Comic Corner Review Here

5. The Crown and the Arrow by Renée Ahdieh – Rating: ♥♥♥. Review Here

6. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys – Rating: ♥♥♥♥. Review Here

7. Harley & Ivy by Paul Dini, Judd Winick, Bruce Timm (Illustrator) & Joe Chiodo (Illustrator) – Rating: ♥♥♥. Comic Corner Here

8. Boys Over Flowers: Hana Yori Dango, Vol. 1 by Yoko Kamio – Rating: ♥♥♥. Review Here

9.  Boys Over Flowers: Hana Yori Dango, Vol. 2 by Yoko Kamio – Rating: ♥♥. Review Here

10. Boys Over Flowers: Hana Yori Dango, Vol. 3 by Yoko Kamio – Rating: ♥♥. Review Here

11. Boys Over Flowers: Hana Yori Dango, Vol. 4 by Yoko Kamio – Rating: ♥♥♥. Here

12. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson – Rating: ♥♥♥♥. Review Here

13. Batman: Harley Quinn by Paul Dini – Rating: ♥♥♥. Comic Corner Review Here

No five star reads this month but my favorite were definitely Golden Son and Steelheart. Both were so action packed and fantastic.


TV Favorite:


Hana Yori Dango (Japanese ‘Boys Over Flower’):

I despise the manga series, but I binge watched the crap out of this Japanese adaptation and I absolutely love it! I actually prefer this version over the Korean one. Blasphemous, I know but this just has so much charm and it didn’t take me as long to fall in love with this one. Everything works in this for me. The entire cast is so wonderful, especially the gorgeous, beautiful, dreamy   actor that plays Domyoji.

Yes, yes I am.

 


Movie Favorite:

What Happened, Miss Simone? (Netflix):

Not a film, but a documentary and one of the best I’ve ever seen. Nina Simone was a force to be reckon with. She had her demons and struggles and this documentary holds back no punches in regards to that. My goodness, talk about a talented and revolutionary woman. She was so blunt and in your face and she made absolutely no apologies about it. I love that this had actual interviews, sound bits and performances from Miss Simone herself so you really got to see her story from the beginning and hear it from her and the ones close to her. If you want the true Nina Simone experience, just watch this documentary. She was a rebellious, iconic, revolutionary, unapologetic dark skinned black woman.  


Music Favorite(s):

Q Is by Nu’est

For whatever reason, I didn’t get into this mini album when it first came out. It just slipped completely under my radar until the middle of March and I’m now obsessed with it. Every single song on here is really good and I love the sound of this EP. It’s very heavy on the R&B side and I’m all about that. It’s still really pop but it’s a great blend. My favorite songs on this are 사실 말야 VVITH & 여왕의 기사 Overcome which is the lead single.


A Delicate Sense by Fiestar  

This was a fantastic comeback for Fiestar! I was not a fan of their last EP, Black Label so I was a bit hesitant but they definitely delivered! I skip absolutely no songs on this album and I love them all so much. I also really love the sound they went with this time; it has such a grown and sexy vibe to it. I could seriously go on and on about this album. It was hard picking favorites since they are all so great but I managed to narrow it down. I of course have two favorites and they are Mr. Black & 갈증 Thirst

I am K-Pop trash, sorry. Let me know what your favorite things were in March and what you read. And don’t forget to link me to your wrap up!

sig

 

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

8 thoughts on “Monthly Rewind: March 2016

  1. Wow, you must be one fast reader 😮 And you have written so many reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a huge haul, omg! So many great books too. I loved Golden Son, the entire series in incredible. I really wish I had the will to read as many books as you lmao. I’m currently reading Salt to the Sea! I’ll have to check out your reviews ^^ Thanks for sharing Jamie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great month! Really impressive amount of reviews! I really want to read Salt to the Sea! I completely agree with your thoughts on Harley & Ivy. I was really excited to read that because I absolutely adore their relationship to pieces, but it just fell so flat. Their characterisations were definitely not done justice.

    My March Wrap Up

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Yes, Ivy and Harley’s friendship is the absolute best but that comic just didn’t do it right. Harley isn’t that ditzy so it irritates me when comics and certain writers portray her as being really dumb. And I totally recommend Salt to the Sea! 🙂

      Like

  4. What a great reading month for you! Super glad you liked Steelheart – that book was what got me out of my 3-year reading slump so it has a special place in my heart. Here is my March wrap-up post, if you’re interested. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

