Top Ten Tuesday – 3/29/16

19 Comments

top10tuesbnner

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme of lists hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week is ‘Top Ten Latest 5 Star Reads’ but I’ve only given three 5 star reads this year so far (because I’m extremely picky) which are the first three books on the list. The rest are really high four star reads. So instead I just split it up and did “Top 5 Reads of 2016…So Far” and “Top 5 Disappointments of 2016…So Far” because I have to make everything complicated.

Top 5 Reads of 2016…So Far

1. F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher – Tarryn Fisher is one of my favorite author’s and this novel, while not my favorite from her, is still really amazing. I’ve drifted away from contemporary’s the past few months for some reason but this is one that has stuck out to me. The Harry Potter references in this are top notch. This is just a great book if you like stories about bad timing and self discovery.

2. Batman: The Killing Joke by Alan Moore – I love The Joker and this is one of my new favorite graphic novels because this all about Joker and his origin. The artwork is stunning and it’s a really awesome look at everyone’s favorite clown.

3. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater – This is a sequel that definitely didn’t suffer from second book syndrome for me. Also, it’s more focused on Ronan Lynch and I’m all about Ronan Lynch.

4. Golden Son by Pierce Brown – Another amazing sequel. The development of the story and Darrow’s character in this novel is still something I think about because it’s so amazing. This book put Darrow on my list of favorite male characters ever.

5. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson – This book is like a really well done action film. It’s filled with action and kickass characters and the writing is absolutely amazing and addictive.

Top 5 Disappointing Reads of 2016…So Far

1. Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry – This was just way too dramatic and riddled with clichés. The MC aspect of it wasn’t really done that well and if removed, the story wouldn’t have suffered. Also, Emily was a terrible character and I hated read from her point of view. I love McGarry’s Pushing the Limits (minus the second book) so to start so rocky with this series makes me sad.

2. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff – This relied way too heavily on the gimmick for my taste. I know I’m in the minority when it comes to this book but this didn’t work for me. It was a bit of a mess.

3. Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner – Very disappointing ending to the trilogy. I absolutely loved the second book but this one just dropped the ball. The ending felt convenient for the sake of having a happily ever after. I felt cheated.

4. Doctor Who, The Tenth Doctor, Vol. 1: Revolutions of Terror by Nick Abadzis, Elena Casagrande (Illustrations) &  Arianna Florian (Illustrations) – As a big fan of the 10th Doctor, this was just so damn upsetting. The artwork was great but everything else lacked severely and it lacked the charm and personality of the Doctor.

5. Boys Over Flowers: Hana Yori Dango by Yoko Kamio – This manga series is disturbing. I still love the Anime and Korean adaptations but I see them now with new eyes. The series is problematic as all hell but even more so in the manga. Just thinking about picking up another volume of this series makes my eye twitch. Only positive from this is that I am now obsessed with the Japanese adaptation. Doesn’t hurt that the actor that plays Domyoji is the most beautiful man ever  brings such depth to this horrible character.

SAY HELLO TO MY NEW FAVORITE GIF.

Always look on the bright side, amiright?

Well, that’s all for now! Let me know what you think and please don’t forget to link me to your TTT! 

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 3/29/16

  1. Great lists, love it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Why don’t you like Illuminae? I haven’t read it yet but have heard many good things about it.
    My TTT: https://abibliophilesobsession.wordpress.com/2016/03/29/ttt-five-of-the-best-books-ive-read-recently/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read Illuminae yet, and part of the reason was I was worried that the pretties of the book is what was causing all the praise more than the actual story. And so far I hadn’t found any review that explained why, if they even did, dislike the book. So I will have to check out your review of it so I can get a full idea of the book.

    My TTT:Marie @ Pages to Explore

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Red Rising trilogy is one of my absolute favorites. It’s only going to get better from there! My favorite Hana Yori Dango adaptation is the Taiwanese one. Although I love K-drama. 😉

    https://shelfpickings.wordpress.com/2016/03/29/top-ten-tuesdays-five-stars/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Golden Son, Illuminae and Their Fractured Light are on my soon TBR.. I’ve also been seeing Steelheart a lot on my GR feed so I might give it a chance ‘coz I like action and kickass characters xD

    Great list Jamie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yeees for Steelheart! 100% agree that it was like an action movie. It’d be perfect as one. 🙂

    And I laughed at your comment on Hana Yori Dango. Admittedly, the K-version is my guilty pleasure (because Kim Bum) and I try not to think too much about it because if I do, I’ll find TONS of things problematic and can’t see it the same way. So I just take it as mindless entertainment. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • I kinda want to see Steelheart become a movie, but then I don’t cause I don’t want Hollywood to ruin it. And omg yes Hana Yori Dango every adaptation is my guilty pleasure! I seriously just enjoy it for what it is but the manga is a mess. LOL.

      Like

  7. I’m currently reading The Dream Thieves and I love it. I really need to read Red Rising too. I’m not really a contemporary fan but the cover of F*ck Love is awesome. Sorry you didn’t like Illuminae! I understand about the format not being for everyone though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you’re loving Dream Thieves! Are you going to do a review on it? I hope so! And, yes I absolutely love the cover for F*ck Love! It’s a work of art. Lol. I haven’t given up all hope for the Illuminae series. I’ll definitely give the sequel a chance.

      Like

Leave a Reply

