Review: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

2 Comments


Title: Steelheart

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: YA Sci-Fi

Date Published: September 24th 2013 by Delacorte Press

Series: Book #1 in the Reckoners trilogy

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his wills.

Nobody fights the Epics…nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.

And David wants in. He wants Steelheart — the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David’s father. For years, like the Reckoners, David’s been studying, and planning — and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience.

He’s seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge.


mythoughtssign

***(Non Spoiler) Review: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson***

“You’ve got passion to kill but you need to find passion to live.”

This was ridiculously addicting. I could not put this book down, and when I did it was all I was thinking about.

This was my first Brandon Sanderson book and I definitely can say that I see what the hype is about. His writing is incredible. The world building in this was great, the action scenes were great and the plot itself was great. I loved the prologue in this, it was perfect. It was action packed and set up the rest of the story really well. I never felt like there was any info-dumping or unnecessary details added.

I also, for the most part, really enjoyed a good majority of the characters. Our main protagonist, David, I really liked…most of the time. He was a bit too immature for my liking at times and he did really stupid, reckless things off of instinct. He got all up in arms about not wanting to be referred to as a child because he’s 18 but he never acted like he was. I also couldn’t stand the feelings he had for Megan. It felt way too insta-love on his part and I did not see why he liked her so much when she was nothing but a bitch to him from the moment they met. Other than those little nuisances, he was still a really fun character and I liked his personality and how charming he came across. Also, his puns and metaphors were hilarious because they never made sense (“It’s like a banana farm for guns!”). I just wanted a bit more maturity but I’m sure he develops as the series goes on.

Megan was awful. I hated her from the very beginning. She was such an insufferable person and I didn’t get why David was so smitten with her. I wanted her to go away, but of course, I’m not that lucky so I’m sure she’ll stick around until the end of the series. Ugh.

Everyone else in the Reckoners I really liked. Unfortunately though, besides Prof, the rest felt underdeveloped which sucks because I really liked them. Especially Cody and Tia. Hopefully there will be more chance for them to shine in the next novels because I was definitely intrigued by them.

Overall, this was a really good, action packed first book and I cannot wait to continue on.

My Rating:

rating4

If you’ve read this series please let me know what you thought of it! Any other Brandon Sanderson series you would recommend to me? 

sig

 

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

2 thoughts on “Review: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: March 2016 |

  2. Pingback: (Non Spoiler) Review: Firefight by Brandon Sanderson |

Leave a Reply

