Top Ten Tuesday – 3/8/2016

15 Comments

top10tuesbnner

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme of lists hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week is ‘Top 10 characters that everyone loves but you just don’t get’ and oh, boy am I excited. Let’s see how this goes.


 

Keep in mind, not everyone is going to love the same characters. I know a lot of people who absolutely despise some of my all time favorite characters and that’s fine. *cough*moreofthemformethen*cough* Now that we have that out of the way, let’s get to the characters that I just don’t understand the hype about.

Top 10 Characters Everyone Loves but I Just Don’t Get:

1) Bella Swan from Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

This is like beating a dead horse but I don’t think I’ve yet to read about a worse character than her. She’s just an awful person.

2) Tris from Divergent by Veronica Roth

She started off so great in the first book, but those last two books were terrible (in general and for her character). It’s like her character regressed instead of building off of the amazing development she went through in the first book. So unfortunate because she had all the potential in the world to be amazing.

3) Juliette from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

This character never worked for me, even in the end. She just wasn’t a very good character and I had a hard time rooting for her because she was always being a simpering hot mess and I don’t have time for that.

4) Adam from Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Hated this guy from the very first book and it only got worse from there. What a dick. I know there’s still people who are Team Adam and more power to all of you. You’re stronger than me cause I cannot deal with this guy at all.

5) Jace from City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

He didn’t work for me. The ‘jerkass with a heart of gold’ shtick did not do it for me with him. He was just an ass but with no charm and I didn’t enjoy having the urge to punch him the entire book. I hear he does get a bit better as the series progresses and that’s great but he left such a bad taste in my mouth that I don’t even care in the end.

6) Eleanor from Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

She’s one of those characters that I just didn’t like but quite put my finger on why. I mean, besides the fetishization of Park that she had, there was just something about her that just irked me.

7) Scarlet from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

She’s awful. She’s brash, rude and kinda mean and she stayed that way until the end. Those attributes doesn’t make one “tough” it makes you a jerk. If that’s what you’re going for, cool. More power to you but don’t try to sell me those things in a character and tell me that they’re “badass” because I will poke all sorts of holes in your logic.

8) Lara Jean from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

She was just way too immature for me. She didn’t read as a 16 year old, she felt more like 13.  I’m not saying that 16 is such a mature age or anything but she should’ve dealt with things a lot better than a pre-teen girl would’ve at that point.

9) Patch from Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

I remember when this series was all the rage and everyone was obsessed with Patch and I was so lost. I hated him. He reminded me so much of Edward and no, thank you! I’m not here for that. His behavior and attitude were awful and I hated him more as the series went on.

10) America from The Selection by Kiera Cass

To sum her up in one word: Annoying. I’ve lost all energy at this point and to talk about this character and the ways she irked my soul would be draining.

If you like these characters, cool. Nothing personal, they just didn’t work for me. Take my opinions with a grain of salt. But, also realize that

mfoa6ot

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – 3/8/2016

  1. Jace and Eleanor both made my list as well. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It was a bit of a toss-up who I picked from Twilight… but I decided to give Bella a break because she is a teenager, and many of us were pretty awful then.
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bless this post. I am definitely here for your dislike of Eleanor because I could not STAND her the entire time I was forced to listen to E&P. Jace also fell pretty short with me while reading City of Bones… as did Clary. Sorry not sorry.

    I’m seeing Scarlet pop up everywhere now, and it makes me not even want to pick the book back up again. I thought I just didn’t like her because I was being petty and I don’t actual like The Little Red Riding Hood in general. Nice to know my presumptions were accurate!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! We’re seeing eye to eye here. Lol. Also, Clary was *this* close to being put on my list but I let her slide this one time. And no, you weren’t being petty, Scarlet is actually just a terrible character. Haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s okay. I caught her on my list, so we’ve got all of our bases covered. c: That’s such great news. Have you managed to get through the rest of The Lunar Chronicles? I really only started reading the series because of the promise of a black princess at the end… but I don’t want to struggle bus it through Scarlet.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I finished the Lunar Chronicles in January and I only did that because of the promise of a black princess. Lol. It was worth it but dammit I still hated Scarlet.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Glad I’m not the only one. Ugh. I suppose I can somehow get it together long enough to finish that book.

        Like

  4. I don’t like any one from Shatter Me! Also didn’t like Patch or Nora for that matter. As for Lara Jean – I could have sworn I was reading about a 12 year old.

    Check out my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Learning a ton from these neat aritcles.

    Like

  6. I much prefer inaiomftrve articles like this to that high brow literature.

    Like

Leave a Reply

