(Non-Spoiler) Review: Golden Son by Pierce Brown

3 Comments

goldensonrvwbnner

ex2kv0p

Title: Golden Son

Author: Pierce Brown

Genre: Adult, Sci/Fi & Dystopian

Date Published: January 6, 2015 by Del Rey Books

Series: Book #2 in the Red Rising trilogy

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game,and Game of Thrones, debut author Pierce Brown’s genre-defying epic Red Rising hit the ground running and wasted no time becoming a sensation. Golden Son continues the stunning saga of Darrow, a rebel forged by tragedy, battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom from the overlords of a brutal elitist future built on lies. Now fully embedded among the Gold ruling class, Darrow continues his work to bring down Society from within. A life-or-death tale of vengeance with an unforgettable hero at its heart, Golden Son guarantees Pierce Brown’s continuing status as one of fiction’s most exciting new voices.


mythoughtssign

** Review: Red Rising by Pierce Brown | (Non Spoiler) Review: Morning Star by Pierce Brown**

“We will all die and the universe will carry on without care. All that we have is that shout into the wind – how we live. How we go. And how we stand before we fall.”

Much better than the first book, where that one started out slow, the sequel jumps right into the action. It was a lot of fun and I really enjoyed it. I think my main gripe is that there was a large chunk of the middle that was really slow and dragged the story down a bit. Other than that, I really didn’t have any problems with this book. It’s a fantastic follow-up. There were plenty of intense moments and the ending was really great and out of nowhere.

I really enjoy Pierce Brown’s writing style and the voice he gives to our main character, Darrow. All of the side characters as well are really well done and feel like individuals. I also really like his dialogue and how it’s really snarky. It just feeds into the smartass in me.

Darrow, I feel is going to go down as one of my favorite male protagonists ever. Such a complex and fascinating guy he is. I thought his character development in the first book was good, but it doesn’t even compare to this one. We get to watch how the society and people around him are shaping him into the person that he is and I’m so excited for even more development in the final book. I’m sure I’ll be even more impressed with his growth in that one.

Sevro is one of the side characters that I really like. I like his loyalty to Darrow and his personality is great and their friendship was a lot of fun. I also liked the little background we got on him towards the end.

Mustang is another plus in this series for me. I like her relationship with Darrow and their whole intense conflict they’ve got going on. On her own, she’s a great character as well. I like that she’s very smart and can be conniving if she has to. She wears heart on her sleeve but she’s not weak. She can stand on her own and fend for herself and I love that. Besides Darrow, I feel like she also has gone through some really great character development thus far.

Even though the ending has me scared (in a good way) to read the last book I am really excited to see how this series wraps up!

My Rating:

rating4

If you’ve read this series, what are your thoughts on it? 

sig

 

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

3 thoughts on “(Non-Spoiler) Review: Golden Son by Pierce Brown

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: March 2016 |

  2. Pingback: (Non Spoiler) Review: Morning Star by Pierce Brown |

  3. Pingback: Review: Red Rising by Pierce Brown |

Leave a Reply

