(Non-Spoiler)Review: Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

1 Comment

starboundbnner

I read the first two books late last year and I just finished the third and final book yesterday. So, I decided to just do a series review and put them all together as one. So, let’s do this!

2oixyea

Title: These Broken Stars

Author(s): Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Genre: YA Sci-Fi & Romance

Date Published: December 10, 2013 by Disney Hyperion

Series: Book #1 in the Starbound Trilogy

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive – alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.

The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.


 

mythoughtssign

Book #1: These Broken Stars

This started out really rocky and full of cliches but by the end I thoroughly enjoyed it. Weak beginning but a decently strong finish raised this from a two to three stars for me.

I liked the writing of the two authors. It was easy and held my attention for the most part. The world building left a lot to be desired, though. It was never really explained in enough detail to where I could get a good grasp on it so I was always a little bit confused on where this was taking place.

Our two main characters Lilac and Tarver were annoying as hell for a good majority of the book. The whole “I like you but I’m going to pretend to hate you for the sake of protecting you” cliche is the absolute worse. That could’ve been left out because their relationship felt like an insta-love anyways. I will say that out of the two I enjoyed Tarver’s chapters way more. He was annoying but he wasn’t as boring as Lilac. They did go through a decent bit of character development in the end though so I can’t complain too much.

I wanted more from this, story wise and from the characters but for what it is it isn’t a terrible read. I have the second book from the library and I’m curious to see how that one is and how Lilac and Tarver are incorporated into the story.

My Rating:

rating3

Book #2: This Shattered World

This was definitely better than the first book for me. Everything about this felt like a step up and I enjoyed it immensely.

I thought the story was better here and the world building was touched upon a lot more. I wasn’t lost and confused on the setting and I never felt as if the story was dragging. I also felt an actual connection to the main characters in this book.

I absolutely love Jubilee Chase! She’s such an amazing character. She’s so headstrong and independent and stubborn and badass and gah! I seriously adore her. I feel like she went through great character development. The difference from where she started to where she ended as a character was fascinating to see. I really want to read the third book just to get more of her.

Also, I might be slightly obsessed with Flynn. I love me some Flynn. He was lovable and selfless and again, his character development was on point. His relationship with Jubilee was really well done and I appreciate that the authors let it develop naturally this time.

Another plus for this book was that I actually liked Tarver and Lilac in their small cameos. They felt like different characters and I wish they would’ve been like this in the first book because I really would’ve liked them then.

Overall, this was a lot of fun and I’m anxious to see how the series wraps up.

My Rating:

rating4

Book #3: Their Fractured Light

Not a bad ending, but definitely very cheesy and convenient. I’m glad I read it just to finish off the trilogy but I was disappointed in this one unfortunately.

I liked Sofia and Gideon as characters but together as a couple they didn’t work for me. Their love was so forced and felt so out of nowhere. It was insta-love in a sense which was disappointing because they started off so strong as people when they first met and then all of sudden they were all about the other in the blink of an eye. I didn’t get it. Even after Sofia finds out something really major about him she forgives him like the next day! What the hell? No, just, no. There was no connection between them and the dialogue was cringe-worthy. All in all, their “love” made me tired. They were so much better apart from each other.

The rest of the characters were fine and I feel like the story picked up a bit when they showed up. The story started off so strong and then became stagnant until the others appeared. I liked seeing them all interact with each other so that was plus. Also, more Jubilee and I’m all about Jubilee Chase!

The ending was a cop-out and felt contrived. I really hate convenient happily ever after endings. For everything to be so huge and detrimental to everyone and everything and then it’s solved so easily feels like a waste of time.

Overall, an underwhelming ending to an okay series.

My Rating:

rating3

Overall, the series isn’t terrible but it’s nothing to write home about. It’s a bit on the cliche side and the second book is definitely the best book in the series. If I were to rate this as a whole I would give it 3 stars. If you have read this series, what did you think about it?

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

One thought on “(Non-Spoiler)Review: Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: February 2016 |

Leave a Reply

