Review: Red Rising by Pierce Brown

3 Comments

redrisingbkrevbnner

bncymrcTitle: Red Rising

Author: Pierce Brown

Genre: Adult, Sci/Fi & Dystopian

Date Published: January 28, 2014 by Random House

Series: Book #1 in the Red Rising trilogy

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations.

Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children.

But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.

Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity’s overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society’s ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies… even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.


mythoughtssign

**(Non-Spoiler) Review: Golden Son by Pierce Brown | (Non Spoiler) Review: Morning Star by Pierce Brown**

“The measure of a man is what he does when he has power.”

The first few chapters had me second guessing this but at about 100 pages in, I was sold. This was really dark and gritty and a lot of fun for me. Once the story picked up and the action kicked in it was intense and it didn’t stop.

I liked the writing style quite a bit, I think the world building was kind of iffy in the beginning but definitely got better by the end. The pacing was good and the story itself is really intriguing. I loved the dystopian and government aspects and all of the backstabbing and alliances that went on.

I also really liked the main character, Darrow. He was such a complex and interesting character. I didn’t care for him too much in the beginning but he really does go through some amazing development throughout the entire book and by the end, he seems like a whole new person. I loved that he wasn’t afraid to be vulnerable and that he was a leader by being more than just brawn, he had the mindset of a leader and some really fascinating tactics.

“You do not follow me because I am the strongest. Pax is. You do not follow me because I am the brightest. Mustang is. You follow me because you do not know where you are going. I do.”

He did somethings that made him more morally gray in my opinion but that only added to the depth of his character for me. He’s just fascinating and I loved being inside his head.

Overall, there was so much that this book got right and I really enjoyed it. Also, the ending was pretty damn crazy.

My Rating:

rating4

Have you read this? What are your thoughts on it? Let me know!

sig

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

3 thoughts on “Review: Red Rising by Pierce Brown

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: February 2016 |

  2. Pingback: (Non-Spoiler) Review: Golden Son by Pierce Brown |

  3. Pingback: (Non Spoiler) Review: Morning Star by Pierce Brown |

Leave a Reply

