(Non-Spoiler)Review: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

2 Comments

dreamthievesrevbnner

k5a0mofTitle: The Dream Thieves

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genre: YA Paranormal

Date Published: September 30, 2013 by Scholastic Press

Series: Book #2 in the Raven Cycle Quartet

Purchase: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys – a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface – changing everything in its wake.

Of THE RAVEN BOYS, ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY wrote, “Maggie Stiefvater’s can’t-put-it-down paranormal adventure will leave you clamoring for book two.” Now the second book is here, with the same wild imagination, dark romance, and heart-stopping twists that only Maggie Stiefvater can conjure.


mythoughtssign

***Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater | (Non Spoiler) Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater***

“In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them. Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness. Her raven boys.”

Wow, now that was a sequel! No second book syndrome here, folks. This book made me fall in with this series and I definitely see what all the hype is about. It was absolutely amazing.

I’m in awe of Maggie Stiefvater’s writing and the way she writes her characters. This series is definitely character driven and I love that because she’s crafted characters that I actually love and care about. In the moments where they were just doing regular, mundane things I was still so intrigued because it was just like hanging out with friends. They felt so real and that’s a talent.

This was more focused on Ronan which I was so happy about because I love him. I loved getting to know more about him as a person and he’s such a great, complex character. His friendship with Gansey is probably my favorite thing. I think they’re just so funny together. Also, the love he has for his younger brother was so great to see. He’s not just some angry hardass all the time, he actually has people he really does care about. I have an even deeper love for his character after this book.

Gansey is everything. He’s my favorite of the boys but I want more from his character. I loved the little insight into his family but I want so much more. I’m sure there will be more into him in the next book.

Adam is my least favorite and he drove me crazy in this book but I totally understood it. He came through for me in the end but I don’t know, I could be wrong, but there’s just something about him that doesn’t sit right with me. Can’t figure out what, though.

My only complaint is that there wasn’t enough Blue (who I absolutely adore) but I loved whenever she and her family was around. Noah as well, but that kind of goes without saying. I wouldn’t mind more of him either though because he’s so freaking adorable.

I also really liked Mr. Gray Man, I found him fascinating and hopefully his character carries on to the end of the series. Kavinsky was also another highlight for me but that’s only because I’m a shitty person.

Overall, wonderful book and I can’t wait to read the next one.

My Rating:

rating

You definitely need to start this series if you haven’t. It’s pretty amazing. To those who have read it, what are you thoughts on it?

-Jamie

 

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

2 thoughts on “(Non-Spoiler)Review: The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: February 2016 |

  2. Pingback: (Non Spoiler) Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater |

Leave a Reply

