Comic Corner: Mini Reviews for January 2016

3 Comments

kpzcpqa

This is a new feature that I wanted to try. I love comics and graphic novels so why not share that here! I’ll do these in batches whenever I read 4-6 comics so these may be monthly, maybe not. These are just little mini reviews so don’t be expecting lengthy in depth type of essays. Anyways, here are the ones that I’ve read this month. 🙂


ccbnnerjan

1)Doctor Who: The Tenth Doctor, Vol. 1: Revolutions of Terror by Nick Abadzis, Elena Casagrande (Illustrations) & Arianna Florian (Illustrations)

Date Read: Jan. 9

Synopsis from GoodreadsTHE TENTH DOCTOR IS BACK, IN AN ALL-NEW ONGOING SERIES! NEW COMPANION! NEW FOES! UNFORGETTABLE NEW HORIZONS! ALLONS-Y!

Two strangers: the Doctor, charming, eccentric Time Lord with a past as dark and heavy as a black hole; Gabriella Gonzalez, waitress and wannabe artist with a future dragging her down like lead chains.

Hurled together by a wave of psychic horror haunting New York, they embark on an epic new adventure across time and space, brought to life by award-winning writer Nick Abadzis (Laika) and fan-favourite artist Elena Casagrande (Suicide Risk)!

Collects Doctor Who: The Tenth Doctor #1-5.

mythoughtssign

I’m kinda disappointed in this. Being a huge fan of the 10th Doctor in particular, I feel like this should’ve been so much better.

The artwork is great, David Tennant looks like David Tennant so that’s a plus but that’s where the positives end. The stories weren’t that interesting and the companion wasn’t that well done. I love that she was a minority, because hell yes to diversity but Gabby felt like two different people from the first story arc to the second. I liked her a bit more in the first but she was still so terribly underdeveloped. I would’ve much preferred a companion we are already familiar with.

My main issue was that The Doctor didn’t feel like The Doctor. I love what David brought to the character in the show and while there were a few times where his personality shined through, but for the most part, I didn’t get that here. The Doctor has so much personality and is such a really well rounded character but I don’t think that was able to come through.

Overall, it wasn’t a terrible start to the 10th Doctor’s adventures but it left a lot to be desired.

My Rating: rating3


2)Batman/Superman, Vol. 1: Cross World by Greg Pak & Jae Lee (Illustrator)

Date Read: Jan. 17

Synopsis from GoodreadsThe Dark Knight and The Man of Steel are close friends in the modern day – but the two weren’t always such close allies. In this first hardcover collecting BATMAN/ SUPERMAN #1-4 and JUSTICE LEAGUE #23.1: DARKSEID, learn how these two legends met for the first time in The New 52 as they launch into a mysterious adventure that takes them to the world of Earth 2!

mythoughtssign

I liked the artwork a lot. It was so beautiful and breathtaking at parts and I was just really impressed with it. I really liked the whole Bruce and Clark were childhood friends take. It was so adorable to see them meet as kids and their interaction. I’m a sucker for Clark and Bruce friendship storylines. Also, this had Selina/Bruce and Clark/Diana and I’m such trash for those ships. That was a plus. That is always a plus.

My main issues with this was the story itself. The plot was kind of all over the place and I got confused between which Bruce and Clark were from the present and which were past versions of them. I just feel like the story should’ve been stronger to match the artwork. To be completely honest, the artwork completely out shined everything else which isn’t a good thing. With the way this ended, I feel like the story gets stronger in the next volume and on so I’ll definitely be reading it whenever I get my hands on it.

My Rating:

rating3


3)Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank Miller, Klaus Janson (Illustrator) & Lynn Varley (Illustrator)

Date Read: Jan. 19

Synopsis from GoodreadsThis masterpiece of modern comics storytelling brings to vivid life a dark world and an even darker man. Together with inker Klaus Janson and colorist Lynn Varley, writer/artist Frank Miller completely reinvents the legend of Batman in his saga of a near-future Gotham City gone to rot, ten years after the Dark Knight’s retirement.

Crime runs rampant in the streets, and the man who was Batman is still tortured by the memories of his parents’ murders. As civil society crumbles around him, Bruce Wayne’s long-suppressed vigilante side finally breaks free of its self-imposed shackles.

The Dark Knight returns in a blaze of fury, taking on a whole new generation of criminals and matching their level of violence. He is soon joined by this generation’s Robin — a girl named Carrie Kelley, who proves to be just as invaluable as her predecessors.

But can Batman and Robin deal with the threat posed by their deadliest enemies, after years of incarceration have made them into perfect psychopaths? And more important, can anyone survive the coming fallout of an undeclared war between the superpowers – or a clash of what were once the world’s greatest superheroes?

mythoughtssign

This was insanely gritty and dark and I loved it. The story line was great and I liked the characterization of older Bruce/Batman. I liked the way he came out of his retirement. The panels of him watching TV and seeing all the crime was really well done. The fight scenes were awesome. Anytime Batman was in action I was captivated. Another plus about this graphic novel? The Joker. He was menacing as hell. There was one scene in particular with him that genuinely unnerved me. It was great.

Only 4 stars because I do feel like it was a bit too cluttered with unimportant characters and Carrie ( the new Robin) had no character whatsoever. Also, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the artwork.

Overall, I feel like this is a quintessential story for Batman fans. Also, the ending is amazing.

My Rating:

rating4


4)Batman: The Killing Joke by Alan Moore & Brian Bolland (Illustrator)

Date Read: Jan. 21

Synopsis from GoodreadsFor the first time the Joker’s origin is revealed in this tale of insanity and human perseverance. Looking to prove that any man can be pushed past his breaking point and go mad, the Joker attempts to drive Commissioner Gordon insane.

After shooting and permanently paralyzing his daughter Barbara (a.k.a. Batgirl), the Joker kidnaps the commissioner and attacks his mind in hopes of breaking the man.

But refusing to give up, Gordon maintains his sanity with the help of Batman in an effort to beset the madman.

mythoughtssign

This was absolutely amazing. One of my new favorites. I just really wish this wasn’t so short. I wouldn’t have minded if it were a hundred plus pages but I’m not going to take a star off because of that. The story was that strong and so amazing in just that short amount of pages. That’s talent!

I’ve always been a big fan of The Joker so this was perfect for me. Just a story based around him and his nutty ways? Yes, please! The artwork was absolutely stunning and so colorful and helped bring the story to life. The story was dark and gritty and The Joker was fucking menacing. The way he was drawn and his expressions were so great. The ending with him and Batman was so fantastic and such a great moment that I read that page at least three times because it was just so powerful. I loved the different look into the psyche of The Joker and this is definitely one that I would recommend to Batman/Joker fans.

My Rating:

rating

I hope you guys enjoyed! Please, let me know if you have read any of these. Or if you have a favorite comic/graphic novel that you could recommend to me that would be fantastic!

-Jamie

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

3 thoughts on “Comic Corner: Mini Reviews for January 2016

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: January 2016 |

  2. If you like batman then I would highly suggest Batman Cacophony by Kevin Smith. It’s one of my favourite batman stories however it may not be as good as the Killing Joke.

    Like

Leave a Reply

