Review: Manwhore by Katy Evans

1 Comment

reviewbnnerevans

currentreadTitle: Manwhore

Author: Katy Evans

Genre: New Adult Romance

Date Published: March 24, 2015

Series: Manwhore Series #1

Buy the Book: Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: This is the story I’ve been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention.

Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in.

Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career.

But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I’m the one discovering him…or if he’s uncovering me.

What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

 

mythoughtssign

“A challenge is something you stop wanting once you acquire it. I can’t know if you’re a challenge yet until I make you mine.”

*Before I begin can I just say that I love the entire hell out of the cover to this book! I’m such a sucker for covers like these and all of their cheesiness and I can’t stop staring at it. Yes, I’m petting the cover with one hand while writing this review with the other. Stop judging me.*

This was so, so close to being a five star read for me. I loved the story of it and the pacing of the romance was really well done. It had all the potential in the world to be one of my favorites but almost every single character that wasn’t Saint held this back for me unfortunately.

Let me start off by saying that I absolutely love Katy Evans’ writing style. This was the first book I’ve read by her (though I’ve had my eye on her other series for a while now) and I’m impressed. I like how she writes her dialogue and how quick witted and snarky it can be. I feel like that kept everything fresh and fun.

The characters themselves are a completely different story.

I didn’t care for Rachel at all. She was a bit too immature for me. She said things that I feel like a sixteen year old would say (“My ovaries kind of like him.” I add, “A little,” – girl, what?!) and she was a bit too over dramatic about everything.  Did I empathize with her? Ehhh… kind of. It was hard to though since she was bringing everything on herself. She would be trying to break it off with Saint and in her mind she’s telling herself it’s for the best, so you know she’s not that stupid but then she wouldn’t. She would fight her feelings for him and I didn’t get why. He never gave her a reason to think that he didn’t like her or that he wasn’t interested and wanted to be with her. He made that very known from the jump but she ran off what she had heard about him and his reputation and past which bothered me so much. She was in no way a terrible character but I wanted her to stop letting her annoying friends (I loathed her friends so much) try to dictate her life and just live. On the plus side, I did really love her relationship with her mother. I thought that was a great touch.

Malcolm Saint. Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Oh, boy do I love me some Saint. I went into this book expecting him to be the typical “playboy billionaire asshole” but he isn’t. He’s so much more than that. I loved his honesty. He’s blunt as hell and he makes no secret about his reputation as a bit of a floozy but he also doesn’t let that define who he is. He definitely wears his heart on his sleeve but then can switch and be a complete hard ass when it comes to his business. And for some strange reason I liked the whole thing with him doing everything in fours. *wink*

“I’d say people respond to me on four levels and four levels only; they want to pray to me, be me, do me or kill me.”

….yeah, I think that quote has something to do with it. *swoon*

As for the side characters, I didn’t like Rachel’s friends. I’d rather save myself the rage attack so I won’t go into why but they treated Rachel as if she were their daughter instead of a grown ass woman who can make her own mistakes. Saint’s friends annoyed me in the beginning but I grew to tolerate them in the end only because I loved seeing how he was around them. They were like three big over grown kids and it was kind of cute.

Overall, I enjoyed this read and I can tell by the way this one ended that the sequel is going to be even better.

Rating:rating4

 

 

 

Author: Jamie @therebelliousreader

I run on words and coffee.

One thought on “Review: Manwhore by Katy Evans

  1. Pingback: Monthly Rewind: January 2016 |

Leave a Reply

